Patina – the plus side of endless moves

I spent some time recently cleaning dust and grime off our furniture. This is our fifth house in three years…but we’re here to stay, so I’m finally comfortable unpacking boxes and making this our home. It’s good timing, since I’ve hit hardcore nesting stage in my pregnancy.

Anyway, as I got up close and personal with our furniture, I noticed it’s taken a bit of a beating. Scratches, dents, dings…you name it, it’s there. So, I guess the plus side is that I love the way worn objects look. It’s that bit of patina that you pay extra money for Pottery Barn to artificially create, except now we’ve got it in spades and it’s genuine.

I’ll set up pictures of my own, personal patina later. For now, I thought I’d share some of my favorite images from the web…

There’s nothing like the patina of a well-worn book. It creates the feeling of a treasured possession – something that has been handled, read, and loved many times. Image Source: Country Living

I think the slight imperfections on the mirror and chest, plus the old quality of the glass vases, makes these pieces come to life. A beautiful composition that I’d love to have in my entryway. Image Source: Urban Kaleidoscope (a new favorite blog of mine!)

Hard to see in this thumbnail, but that’s a beautifully crafted wall of peeling paint. It’s worth clicking through the source link to see the whole slide show, courtesy of the Homes & Gardens section of NYTimes. Image Source: New York Times

The always fabulous Design*Sponge recently showcased a dark and moody bedroom makeover. I’m in love with the raw quality of this bedframe, the worn feeling of the rugs, and the slight scuffs on the floor. Image Source: Design*Sponge

I often dream of using lockers as storage. Imagine my delight when I discovered these vintage locker doors, repurposed as built-in cabinets. The unfinished, worn table on the right is pretty rad too. Image Source: Country Living

Cheers, Amy

Categories: Simple Joy | Tags: , , , | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Patina – the plus side of endless moves

  1. The range of opinions are nice to see on the topics. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

