Refrigerator Oatmeal

I recently discovered an easy, delicious summer breakfast option: refrigerator oatmeal. I was skeptical at first, but it’s actually quite tasty. Turns out that soaking the oatmeal overnight vs cooking it leads to a chewier, less gluey texture.

I originally found the recipe on a blog called The Yummy Life. Since I’ve cut out dairy, I couldn’t add Greek yogurt, so I experimented with some options. I found that if you mix 1 part oatmeal to 2 parts soy milk, you get a pretty good texture. I mix mine in tupperware containers at night, pop them in the fridge, and they’re good to go by morning.

You can add all kinds of yumminess to the oatmeal. Here’s a few of my favorite combinations so far:

1) Raspberry, honey, wheat germ
2) Blackberry, maple syrup
3) Peach preserves, chopped pecans
4) Strawberries, blueberries, honey
5) Chopped apple, cinnamon, honey

I also frequently sprinkle in some chia seeds and soy protein powder.

Have you tried making refrigerator oatmeal before? What did you think?

Cheers, Amy

Image borrowed from The Yummy Life. Their recipes are delicious – you should check them out.

Categories: Favorite Things | Tags: , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

